Diabetes & The Requisite Toys

I am thankful for gloucometers and that I have a new one,  courtesy of the Veteran’s Administration. It means that I don’t have to use such a large sample to get consistent results and that I don’t have to wait 10 seconds to find out what my magic numbers are. I know that sounds kind of whiney, and in most cases, it’s merely a tad inconvenient. I usually draw & administer my bolus (long term) insulin while I wait. When having a hypoglycemic episode (low blood sugar) however, especially when i’m feeling really low, having a nearly instant reading is tremendously helpful. It gives me the information I need to accurately deal with the situation without compounding the problem in ignorance: specifically, overeating and sending my sugar levels way past normal/healthy into the dangerous high levels. Way too easy to do if you’re running on just the physical feelings & not specific data.

Your tax dollars hard at work keeping me healthy and I “Thank you. Thank you very much.”

 

Leave a Reply

