At Year’s End, 2012

sunday’s Spiritual Spin

I am thankful for the tremendous blessings of past year–some of which did not look at all like blessings. And some of which I have yet to comprehend. But my understanding was never commanded, much to my dismay at times. Fortunately (!), my understanding or lack thereof in no way hinders the blessings or my thankfulness.

This blog is actually one of the more recent blessings, not that I have achieved the discipline or attitude adjustment I seek. But the groundwork is steadily being laid. I didn’t veer off course overnight (see About page) so I suspect that it may be awhile veering back to a more gracious, gratitude filled place. One step at a time.

Many things I wished to happen, didn’t. Several outside of my control; all too many others well within it. Of those, I don’t even want to count how many were due to unrealistic expectations and..let’s call it inertia.

I’m not one for making New Year’s Resolutions. They’re too much like diets. Vain mouthings clothed as promises with precious little intention, deliberation or resolve to motivate. So I’m not making any this year either. I do have some goals and some wishes/dreams that I’d like to see come to fruition this coming year and I will be continuing in their execution and pursuit.

Now is as good a time as any to renew some of the excitement and energy that has flagged over the passing months. A little time to review, rethink and re-prioritize what I want to accomplish is yet another blessing for which I am thankful.

I don’t know what the future holds, but I know Who holds the future and with that, I am content and overwhelmingly blessed.

“Samuel took a stone and…named it Ebenezer, saying ‘Thus far has the Lord helped us.’” 1 Samuel 7:12

 

Leave a Reply

