Janus Future

200px-Janus-Vatican

I am thankful for another year for new blessings. I certainly don’t deserve them, but because I am God’s favorite, He delights in me anyway. Go figure. Good thing He’s God and I’m not.

Like I mentioned yesterday, Janus was the Roman god of…a bunch of stuff. Check out yesterday’s post for the rest.

Yesterday’s post focused on the blessings of looking (briefly, occasionally) to the past. There is benefit for looking similarly to the future; making plans, setting goals, dreaming dreams…preparing for whatever eventualities we may face. But it is also no place to live. The blessings are now. We may anticipate future blessings, but we can’t guarantee them in particular.

I much prefer The Lord Almighty, Who Was, Who Is, and Who Is to Come. Unchanging. Outside of time. Because He is not bound by time (as its creator), past, present and future don’t mean the same thing to Him as is does to us time bound creatures. And that is such a good thing.

I have posted this before, but truth doesn’t wear out with repetition:

I may not know what the future holds, but I know Who hold the (my) future. And I am content with that. Because I do know Him, what He’s like, (glimpses) of His character, I know He has so much more good in store for me. I can hardly wait. It’s like Christmas, every day. Unwrapping my Present.

Leave a Reply

