Gluten Intolerance

I am thankful for gluten intolerance. No, really! Since I learned I get to enjoy working through this particular challenge, I have learned even more about nutrition than I did since learning that I also get the diabetes challenge. Part of said challenge is that you can ask 10 different “experts” (nutritionists, dietitians, endocrinologists, certified diabetes trainers, whatever) what the best diet is for someone with these challenges might be, and you get at least 25 different answers, some of which are mutually exclusive.

Боже меня!

I am not only thankful for the opportunity to learn so much about food, but also for the greater degree of control I have. I am not one to take the word of an “expert” at face value, precisely because of the confusion I’ve encountered. Learning more allows me to experiment and find what works best for me.

I am also thankful for the fact that since I quit eating wheat, I’ve lost 25+ pounds and gone from a 44 to a 41 for pants. Still a ways to go, but every little bit helps.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

For now.

 

Leave a Reply

