Hopefully, One Step Ahead…

I am thankful for router software that allows me to establish and enforce boundaries for the family without constant, immediate supervision; some of whom require it, some not at all, and some: room for growth and the development of self discipline–ah, semi-supervised on the job training, so to speak.

While it has been a tremendous pain in the dupa, I must admit a bit of satisfaction during a “confrontation” today. Although I have been mostly hiding from humanity, with whatever kooties have been going around, the primary Time boundary pusher came into my room to ask why he couldn’t connect to the internet. Being very out of sorts and on at least two (or so) shot of “Nyquil” my response was rather…curt. “If you could be trusted to obey the tech curfew your mother set, I wouldn’t have to lock you out.” “But I have a paper to finish…” “Stinks to be you, doesn’t it?” “PLEEEAASSE!” “OK. I will set it up. It will cut off at 10PM. and there is a log running so I can tell if you even try to connect after that. Second bust: one week lock out. You’ll have to figure something else out, like actually going to school and doing your research there, downloading what you need and finishing the write up at your convenience. Please be informed that you coming up here for this, at this time of night, especially while I’m feeling SO good, is not MY convenience. Understood?” No response.

We shall see.

Leave a Reply

